Winners announced in 63rd Annual Youth Chess Tournament

checkmate 1511866 960 720

The 63rd Annual Ludington Optimist Youth Chess Tournament was held at Ludington High School on Saturday, March 3. This is the longest-running scholastic tournament in Michigan. 40 students from throughout Michigan played five chess games to determine the winners in four divisions. Charlie Reese, from Zeeland, won first place in the High School Division. Middle School Division (grades 6-8) was won by Hunter Reed of Grand Rapids. Vishal Swamy from Holland  earned first in the Upper Elementary Division (grades 4-5). Lower Elementary Division (grades K-3) was won by Evan Morgan of Spring Lake. The Carrom Company donationed 20 chess sets which were all given to the players.

The winners in the four divisions were:
High School Division (grades 9-12):

1st: Charlie Reese, Zeeland
2nd: Michael Heindlmeyer, Holland
3rd: Josh Meisenheimer, Ludington
4th: Brandon Heaton, Muskegon

Middle School Division (grades 6-8):
1st: Hunter Reed, Grand Rapids
2nd: Drew Martin, Allegan
3rd: Alex Alvarez, Byron Center
4th: Prannav Kadhirselvan, Holland

Upper Elementary Division (grades 4-5):
1st: Vishal Swamy, Holland
2nd: Saachi Rajgarhia, Zeeland
3rd: Eli Sevensma, Norton Shores
4th: Evan Yeh, Ada

Lower Elementary Division (grades K-3)
1st: Evan Morgan, Spring Lake
2nd: Sophie Reese, Zeeland
3rd: Varun Swamy, Holland
4th: Ryan Morgan, Spring Lake

back to top